Leslie Gulch and the 24 TS-E II

I always look forward to time spent in the Owyhees whether its on the Idaho or Oregon side.  My most recent time spent in that area was in mid-March for a quick overnight camping in Leslie Gulch with some friends and my fiancee.  This is made the fourth or fifith visit to this amazing area.  I intended to use my new 24 TS-E lens as much as possible.  I’ve had the lens a couple months and haven’t had enough time to get consistent results using tilt.  I know time and experience will get me there bu on this trip I was more concerned with playing with the shift capability and creating panoramas.  Some single frame photos were taken usually  shot between F/11 and F/16.  Again, my goal wasn’t to spend time focusing, tilting and making numerous adjustments.  I had others to spend time with hiking so I did not want to absorb time in that manner.  Here are a few shots from our hike in Juniper Gulch.

|

Juniper Gulch

|

3-shot stitch, Juniper Gulch Detail

|

Shadow Detail, Juniper Gulch

|

We stayed at the campground near the boat launch into the Owyhee Reservoir.  I ventured around opposite the campground at sunset.  It was a cloudless sky but a nice set time nonetheless.  These large formations were interesting.  There was an even more massive column that I had in mind for sunrise, but those plans changed once I awoke.  Here’s a two-shot stitch at sunset.

|

Leslie Gulch Sunset

|

The following morning was windy and cloudy.  I fought myself wanting to stay a little longer in my sleeping bad.  Photography-sense got the better of me when I reasoned I had come to Leslie Gulch for that purpose.  Good sunrise, bad sunrise or something in between, I had to get out with the camera regardless.  Despite the wind and the clouds a little warm light broke through for a few brief moments.

|

Sunrise, Leslie Gulch

|

Lastly, once breakfast was eaten and everything packed up, there was one unnamed gulch that had caught our eye the day before.  As we started down I remembered going down it before but the thick brush and steep walls kept me from venturing much further.  This time I went further, but still have yet to see it to the end.  Just a nice excuse to head back someday!

|

Unnamed Gulch

Leave a Reply

