Palouse River

I’ve wanted to head back to Palouse Falls since my first visit a couple months ago.  The reason is more for the high desert experience than for the falls and photos (though photos are always on the agenda).  I had decided to spend Saturday driving around taking pictures as long as the weather cooperated.  Unfortunately the weather forecast was too correct:  mostly sunny morning giving way to clouds and rain.

I awoke early, as usual for photo days, and headed to Elberton, WA.  I had seen a picture or two with a nice view of Steptoe Butte overlooking the Palouse River.  I found the spot with plenty of time to set up and shoot.  It was a good, cold morning for photographs.  The bit of fall color surrounding the river was a nice addition.

 

Dawn over Elberton, WA

 

After the dawn conditions gave way to sunrise, I headed down to Elberton and drove along the river looking for photo ops.  The frost was thick on the banks and I began anticipating fog along the river as the sun rose.  I found a decent spot but not wholly to my liking.  The road eventually went of the small canyon and into the rolling hills.  I turned around and drove back through being even more deliberate.  Finally on the other side of Elberton (east side) I found some nice views with thick fog engulfing the forest above the river.

 

Fog along the Palouse River

 

 

Sunrays and fog along the Palouse River

 

It was nearing 8:00am and the sun was close to being covered up by incoming clouds.  Since the conditions were quickly deteriorating I decided to take a break from driving around looking for shots.  My intention was to be at Palouse Falls in the afternoon, keeping my fingers crossed that there would be nice sunset.  I stayed true to the former, but the nice sunset never came–just clouds and intermittent rain.

To pass the time between the morning and afternoon shoot I decided to go up to Spokane and see my friends Barnes and Noble.  I picked up a couple new books and began a big, circuitous loop back down to Palouse Falls.  I took I-90 down the Sprague, WA and then took a network of gravel and paved roads weaving through the Scablands and Palouse.  It was a great drive and satisfied my longing for high desert scenery.  I will definitely head back to this area (and take photos too…not the best conditions this time around).

At Palouse Falls I hiked to the backside of the falls and then downstream a short way.  The backside hike afforded me views of the Upper Falls.  There is a nice trail that goes down the upper falls, but the cloudy conditions weren’t the best for lower angle shots of the falls and canyon.  I fooled around there for a while and then headed back up to where the vantage points were better given the weather.  I proceeded to hike around the top and see the main falls.  I took the typical wide angle shot of the (distorted) falls and canyon.  I did a slight perspective crop but the falls still had a gross unnatural lean to it.  I then hiked downstream but not too far.  The rain was picking up and the scenery was a simple continuation of a terraced canyon and river.  Better weather would have been nice (puffy clouds) but I’m sure I’ll go back when such conditions are present.

I’ll end with a couple of shots from the falls area.  The interesting thing to note is that all the pictures are from the same river.  If I were to drive from my dawn location to the falls, it would take about and hour and half.  But during that time the river goes from a nice meandering stream through the hills of the Palouse to a mini Colorado River imitator.  The transition from Palouse to Scablands is very abrupt yet very beautiful (to me, at least).

 

Upper Palouse Falls

 

 

Palouse Falls

 

One thought on “Palouse River

Leave a Reply

